*Jill arrives home from a date*

Lill: *Raises eyebrows* So you’re back…

Jill: Yup.

Lill: Did you have a good time corrupting my little brother?

Jill: Pff, yeah, me and my wild cougar ways…

Lill: Well at least you’re home early…wait…why are you home early?

Jill: *Sigh* Here’s my theory on that one: It seems that the longer the affiliation with your object of interest’s familial relations, the lower you rank on the scale of desirability – I suspect this is due to the intense similarities that unavoidably develop.

Lill: What was the telling moment?

Jill: Well, it could have been when he commented on the number of single men around us while putting my sweater over my shoulders, or perhaps when he introduced me as his ‘sister’s friend’ to a group of coworkers, but nope, I think the last vodka-infused-straw was when he left me at the door with a hug and kiss on the forehead, his parting words, ‘Gee Jill, it was really cool hanging out with you tonight, it reminded me of when Lill used to come home on weekends’.

Lill: Platonic inevitability eh?

Jill: So it would seem – He did, however, confess to having a crush on me when we were still in university.

Lill: Ah yes, but being mindful of the scale, that was when your measure of desirability was much higher.

Jill: Right, and seeing as ‘hot Jill’ has effectively been exiled to Siberia with the advent of our cohabitation, dating me is now equivalent to incest.

Lill: Well, look at it this way; in losing a potential lover, life partner and mate you’ve gained someone who will fix your car, sneak you booze at family gatherings and share with you stories of their bodily functions.

Jill: *Sigh* As long as I don’t have to help him with his paper route…

About Lill and Jill

We are Lillian and Jillian; best friends and roommates. We blog to capture the seemingly trivial moments of thought and expression that make us smile; the often-times ridiculous way we see the world and how we live in it. We ask that you think well of us despite our propensity for drinking saccharine-laden alcoholic beverages, affection for 90′s boy-bands, and regular inappropriateness.

7 responses »

  1. Oh Jill 😦 If there was such a thing as a virtual box of Lindor chocolates, I’d be giving you three right now. I still feel something is there. If he had a crush on you once, its very possible he’s keeping away because of family connections.

    Don’t worry, every “family gathering” you see him at is potential for both you guys to pull a Monica and Chandler.

    • You’re so sweet – and I’m loving your virtual chocolate suggestion (fat/sugar free is always a plus). My reasons for wanting the date in the first place weren’t really all that honourable (I can be pretty shallow sometimes)…but in truth I did/do have an interest in seeing something develop (despite his unfortunate family ;-). It’s possible my intentions weren’t clear enough…though how he missed the ubercleavage and continuous hair-flipping is beyond me. LOL and I’m totally all over the Monica and Chandler idea 😀
      So, I guess this is a big *sigh* followed by ‘we’ll see’…J

      • awww sanks! 🙂 Let’s face it, I don’t go out on first dates with honorable intentions either. If the guy is hot, its definitely not honorable. If the guy “has a heart of gold”, chances are I’m only there because I feel bad and want to give him a chance, which really isnt all that honoroable either.

        So no judgments there. Totally expecting this to turn into a Monica Chandler situation in the future 😉

      • Lol, ah yes, a familiar story for sure.
        Will keep you posted 😉 …J

  2. ranton2011 says:

    It would have been weird the first time he walked into Lil half naked and sweaty going to get some gatorade after some, well you know, wink wink, anyway. Better luck next time-the chocolate sounds good. I like chocolate.

Leave a Reply

