Jill: I’m making toast and jam, you want a piece?

Lill: Erm no, I’m good thanks.

Jill: Are you surrre?…I’m using the store-bought strawberry jam you like – you know the one that contains your weight in sugar and only claims to be made with real fruit.

Lill: I’m sorry to have to tell you this, it’s been on my mind for a while now…it’s not the jam Jill, it’s you…

Jill: *Gasp* What is this? What are you saying Lillian?

Lill: *Sigh* Your jam to toast ratio is poor, you repeatedly undercook the toast and you fail to use butter in every serving.

Jill: Well…I…*sniff*…when were you going to tell me?

Lill: I was waiting for the right time…I’m sorry it’s come to this – at least you heard it from me and not someone else.

Jill: Have you always felt this way?

Lill: For a while now yeah….

Jill: Nutella too?

Lill: *Cringe* Yes Jill…

Jill: And peanut butter?!

Lill: Look, we don’t have to do this, really – you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself.

Jill: Wow…I just…I mean…hearing it out loud isn’t making this any more believable…

Lill: *Sigh* Let me get my Foot Loops and we’ll talk about it some more.

Jill: But my bagels are good right? RIGHT?!

About Lill and Jill

We are Lillian and Jillian; best friends and roommates. We blog to capture the seemingly trivial moments of thought and expression that make us smile; the often-times ridiculous way we see the world and how we live in it. We ask that you think well of us despite our propensity for drinking saccharine-laden alcoholic beverages, affection for 90′s boy-bands, and regular inappropriateness.

5 responses »

  1. jensine says:

    Vital to get right butter to to jam to toast ratio … and don’t miss the corners!

  2. onegirlgeek says:

    I always cover the corners, but the jam layer is still usually pretty thin on my toast. I like the way a little jam blends with the butter. But Nutella…I err on the side of too much when it comes to that stuff. (Where I mean “too much for some people.” I don’t think there is such a thing as too much Nutella for me.) Yum. That reminds me…I need to get more Nutella.

    • No, there is no such thing as too much Nutella – I have two bulk-sized jars at home (you know the kind usually reserved for families of 8?) and one stashed in my desk at work – I like to keep some on hand just in case…and it’s the only reason I support Jill getting into Pinterest, for the Nutella-inspired recipes :-D…L

Leave a Reply

