Lill: Hey Jill, can I borrow 20 dollars?

Jill: *Crosses arms* Why do you always use the word ‘borrow’ when what you REALLY mean is ‘take-without-any-real-intent-to-return’?

Lill: ‘Borrow’ implies possible repayment so there’s a greater chance of you actually lending me the cash.

Jill: Fine – why then do you always ask to ‘borrow‘ my money wearing your bleach-stained Adidas hoody from twelfth grade that’s missing its string and that pair of jeans you got from Sears annex with one leg shorter than the other?

Lill: It stands to reason that my shabby appearance will render me more hopeless and pathetic, signalling my neediness and encouraging your spirit of charity.

Jill: And the Cockney-orphan accent?

Lill: Dickensian manipulation.

Jill: *Sigh* You do actually have an occupation – a rather lucrative one last time I checked.

Lill: *Raises eyebrow* Yes but I require THOSE monies for my…projects…

Jill: So what do you need the twenty bucks for?

Lill: The grocery store is selling Halloween candy already and I need to stock up.

Jill: *Face palm* I’m living with a child.

Lill: *Grins*

Jill: *Throws arms up* Argh, fine here’s a ten – now leave before I break our lease and sell you to the Portuguese family down the hall.

Lill: *Cough* Erm…Please, sir, I want some more.

Jill: OUT!!!!

About Lill and Jill

We are Lillian and Jillian; best friends and roommates. We blog to capture the seemingly trivial moments of thought and expression that make us smile; the often-times ridiculous way we see the world and how we live in it. We ask that you think well of us despite our propensity for drinking saccharine-laden alcoholic beverages, affection for 90â€ēs boy-bands, and regular inappropriateness.

4 responses »

  1. 🙂 My kids try that line on me all the time too. I’m not sure they’ve even read or watched Oliver Twist..

Leave a Reply

